Sam Alloway Fills Seat Vacated By Scott Sharpless on Barnegat Light Council

Sam Alloway taking the oath of office, administered by Terry Brady, Municipal Attorney. Photo courtesy of Brenda Kuhn.

Barnegat Light has a replacement borough council member. Sam Alloway was appointed on July 11 to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of Councilman Scott Sharpless.

Sharpless, a Republican, who had chaired the public works committee and had won-re-election last year, cited no reason publicly for leaving. “He just handed in his resignation effective immediately,” said Municipal Clerk Brenda Kuhn after the meeting.

By the time of the July 11 meeting, two recommendations for a replacement had been made by the Ocean County Republican Committee, whose two Barnegat Light representatives are Pam Larson and Al Oros. Alloway was chosen, and at the meeting his appointment was approved unanimously by council.

Alloway is from Vincentown and has been a full-time resident of Barnegat Light for 12 years. He is owner of Jade Run Sod Farm in Vincentown and a Realtor at Alloway Real Estate in Vincentown.

His community involvement in the Vincentown area includes: past chairman of the zoning board; past president of the Vincentown Emergency Squad and Fire Co.; member of the Southampton School Board; and member of the Sally Stretch Keen Library Board.

Alloway has vacationed on LBI for over 40 years, mainly in Barnegat Light. He is a past member of the Barnegat Light Planning Board, a past treasurer and active trustee of the Barnegat Light First Aid Squad, and a trustee of the Republican Club of Barnegat Light.

“My wife and I came to this community because of its unique beauty and wonderful people,” Alloway told The SandPaper. “Barnegat Light is a gem that must be maintained with the leadership that continues its history.

“When I was approached to fill a vacancy on the council, I was honored to be a part of a board that takes pride in their community and values. I look forward to working with the people of Barnegat Light.”

Committees Reorganized

With the change on council came a reorganization of a few of the committees.

Alloway will chair the Docks and Harbors Committte, with other members being Frank Mikuletzky and Michael Spark.

Ed Wellington, who formerly chaired the Docks and Harbors Committee, will now chair the Public Works Committee. Mikuletzky and Alloway are members.

Alloway will also be a member of the Public Safety Committee, still chaired by Mikuletzky. Dottie Reynolds is the other member.

Otherwise, Spark still chairs the Finance Committee; Mary Ellen Foley continues as chair of Water/Sewer; Reynolds chairs Beaches and Parks; and Spark chairs Personnel.

The new assistant superintendent of Public Works and Water/Sewer is Albert Morison, effective July 25.

— Maria Scandale

Reposted from The Sandpaper