Reorganization Keeps Status Quo in Barnegat Light

The 2017 Barnegat Light Borough Council will retain the meeting date of the second Wednesday of the month, at 5 p.m., following the 4:30 p.m. caucus meeting, it was decided at the annual reorganization meeting.

Borough meetings are held in the municipal building, 10 East 7th Street, Barnegat Light.

Committee chairmanships are also the same as the previous year. They are: Michael Spark, council president, chairman of Water/Sewer; George Warr, chairman of finance; Dorothy Reynolds, chairperson of Beaches and Parks; Frank Mikuletzky, chairman of Public Safety; Scott Sharpless, chairman of Public Works; Ed Wellington, chairman of Docks and Harbors.

Each committee is also comprised of two other council members, and the makeup of the committees is unchanged from last year. With the chairperson listed first, the committees are:

Finance: Warr, Spark,Wellington; Water/Sewer: Spark, Warr, Reynolds; Public Works: Sharpless, Wellington, Mikuletzky; Beaches and Parks: Reynolds, Sharpless, Spark; Docks and Harbors: Wellington, Mikuletzky, Sharpless; Public Safety: Mikuletzky, Reynolds, Warr. Although Personnel is not a committee for which reports are listed at public council meetings, the committee exists, chaired by Spark with members Wellington and Sharpless.

Professional appointments are the same as last year as well. They include: assessor, Bernard C. Haney; attorney, Terry F. Brady; auditor, Suplee, Clooney & Co. (Brian Logan); engineer, Frank Little. For a complete list of staff, see the web page

The next council meeting is Jan. 11.

The borough bulletin board also notes a correction in the January recycling calendar. Brush pickup, including Christmas trees, is Jan. 18. Single-stream recycling pickup is Jan. 25. There is only one brush pickup in January. The next brush pickup after that will be March 8.

– Reposted from The Sandpaper